A New Technique And An Attempt At HDR

A few days back as I was reading Bryan Peterson’s Understanding Exposure, I came to his section entitled, “Implying Motion with Stationary Subjects” (page 96 of the paperback 3rd edition) in which he relates how you can get a nifty effect if you zoom while pressing the shutter release. On the evening of the 4th I was in the backyard of our new house snapping pictures. The property is pretty much positioned East/West with woods behind it. The sun setting behind the trees produced some lovely lighting, and as I was shooting this tree along with its shadow, I tried Peterson’s zoom effect a couple of times. I was pleased with this image the most.

I also did some web searching to get an idea (albeit excessively brief) of how HDR worked, and found a tutorial on how to create an HDR image in Photoshop Elements 8. After playing around with it a bit I decided that this image might be a good candidate for an HDR attempt, so after processing the image in RAW I saved several images with the exposure going up and down various degrees. The image below is the result of merging the image exposed at 0, -0.50, and +0.50 in RAW, as well as following the other directions the tutorial offered, tweaking them slightly and bumping up the saturation. Have a great Friday!

 

Camera: Canon EOS Rebel XS ~ Lens: Canon Zoom Lens EF-S 18-55mm @ 18mm ~ ISO: 100 ~ Aperture: f/22 ~ Shutter Speed: 1/3 s ~  Format: RAW

56 thoughts on “A New Technique And An Attempt At HDR

  1. Not being a photographer, I never knew all you could do. :) This is so unique and amazing. Thanks for creating it and sharing it!

  2. Excellent effect ! Great intensity and sense of motion. I just managed to stop myself before I hit my head on the tree – can not afford another monitor.

  3. Nice one! This is how i started messing around with HDR. I think I have turned 5 or 6 of my friends on to it. Many people don’t like it, but when used properly, i think it can significantly enhance a scene. Great start Eden!

    • Thank you Nigel! I’ve been told that this isn’t a true HDR image because of my processing. But I was happy with the result anyway :) Thanks again!

  4. Great shot and processing Eden. The cool thing about this technique is that you get verydifferent results if you go from wide to tele or tele to wide – but im sure you tried both.

    • Thank you Jan! If I remember correctly, I only tried this one technique, though I tried different amounts of zoom. Thanks again!

  5. That is a really cool effect. I think if you can perfect the look of the leaves, this would be a real work of art. Keep up the great work and way to stay creative.
    PS thanks for all the great comments.

Leave a Reply

