Cottonwood Tree

…thou art a nuisance. I live just a little ways up the road from three smallish lakes, and the yard is dotted with cottonwoods. I know it may be politically incorrect in our culture to hate a tree because of it’s species, but I’m pretty sure cottonwoods are the greatest pests of the tree world. They are perpetually dropping something on you. This time of year they happen to be sending off little fuzzy things into the air (which I am blaming for my most recent allergy flare). Later in the season they drop clumps of twigs on top of you, then their leaves dry up and fall much sooner than all the others. Boo. It’s not that I dislike all trees (Willow trees. I like willow trees. They’re pretty and don’t bother anyone), but these guys seem to be terribly high maintenance. Though I suppose I should count my blessings. They could be walnut tress, and I could be living in constant fear of receiving a concussion.

Image Copyright © Eden R. Ellis. All rights reserved.

24 thoughts on “Cottonwood Tree

  1. Sorry for not commenting much lately – 3 of the 4 of us have been sick, my daughter still the worst so – please pray for her.

    I chuckled as I read your blog. I’ve always liked cottonwoods, but then I’m not allergic to them, and that makes quite a difference. You certainly got close up to this one. and got another good picture. Nice work!

    • Sorry to hear that you and your family have been ill, Pete. I did say a prayer for your daughter, and hope you are all feeling much better soon. Tis the season for allergies and sinus infections :( . I don’t know if I’m allergic to the cottonwoods, but it seemed like quite a coincidence that the allergies would act up at the same time they decided to…get fluffy. Hope all is well for you guys! Blessings!

  2. Debbie Reynolds, mother of Carrie Fisher (Princess Leia in Starwars), liked cottonwoods when she sang her hit song, “Tammy.” She stated they whispered, “Tammy…Tammy…Tammy’s in love.” So, maybe you should pay closer attention to cottonwoods. Who knows what they might whisper to you?

    • Sounds good, Larry. Though I may have a hard time hearing them whisper if my ears stay swollen lol. Thanks for the comment!

  3. I love what you did with the cottonwoods . . .even if you’d druther they weren’t there! We have them here too, and it kind of looks like it’s snowing! haha!

  4. I tried one shot of a tree similar to yours and totally blew it. Looking at this, I now know my angle was absolutely off. Great shot!

    • Thank you, Helene! I’ve tried it before myself, and this is the first time I’ve felt like I had a shot that was decent. Keep trying! :)

  5. When I hear some speak of a Cottonwood tree I immediately think of Louis L’Amour and how he always wrote of being able to find water by looking for the Cottonwoods. Great composition Eden!

Leave a Reply

